New Photoshop Elements 8 tutorials

Happy New Year! Did you get Photoshop Elements 8 as a gift and you are now ready to learn how to use it? Well, here are some links to great learning resources.

Video tutorials
For both Windows and Mac users, go to Adobe TV. I highly recommend these two programs:

Text tutorials
If you prefer written tutorials instead of videos, here are some good places to look:

Offerings from the community
Sometimes the best tutorials and advice comes from the community. Try looking at forums. Here are some good ones:

Here’s a nice tutorial on selecting and the smart brush from Priyanka Azad. She created this tutorial in the Community Publishing System on Adobe.com. Anyone can publish tutorials there, including you!

16 thoughts on “New Photoshop Elements 8 tutorials

  1. Hi Luanne, I am looking to buy a program that I can edit my artwork through. Currently I am using an old computer with Adobe Photo Deluxe on it. I am not necessarily interested in the full range of features but what I do want is to be able to fix photos with problems such as clone tool, deleting background, red eye, colour filters, edit grain and moire. I was wondering if you could advise whether Photoshop element 8 or Lightroom would be better. I have checked out Broderbund Print Shop Deluxe but doesn’t seem to be what I want. I am really in the dark as technology has passed me buy a bit. The projects I am working on is illustrations for a children’s book, which I edit through the computer then over paint on the print out. Also paintings I have done, I reproduce in print. A drawing component would be helpful also. Many thanks for your time.

    Ellie

  2. Hi Ellie,
    If you are working on illustrations, I wouldn’t recommend Lightroom for your needs. I think Photoshop would be a better choice. You mentioned that you paint and draw over scanned images. I believe Photoshop will have all the painting and drawing tools you are going to need.

    Luanne

  3. We are professional auctioneers who use photo editing software. We are looking for a program that can easily silhouette items for insertion in our catalogs. Any suggestions?

  4. Is there a tutorial for Elements 8? Everytime I click on Elements 8 tutorials, it goes to Elements 7. Please help. Thanks!

  5. I am a beginner ability in my Photoshop Elements 8 program. Currently trying to resize my photos to put into my family genealogy program. Some documents and photos simply will not change in size. How can I accomplish this resizing? The problem is more than likely me! I go to Image-resizing-choose 50%-click ok etc. When I check the size of the file in some cases it does not change or only changes a very minor amount.
    Thank you so much for any help you can send my way!
    Nita Phillips

  6. Hi Luanne.

    I just want to say thank you for the resources provided on this page. I have a website myself where I have free Element 8 tutorials but it is always good to learn more about your software.
    I’ve had a peek at the community publishing system and it seems like a good place to put your talents on display.
    Thanks again for the info :)

  7. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF SOMEBODY KNOWS A REASONS WHY I CAN ADD TEXT ON PHOTOSHOP ELEMENT 8 I BEEN LOOKING FOR HELP EVERYWHERE …

  8. I am not sure what thus site is all about, but I supopose it has to do with PS tutorials of some sort. My problem is that I have tried the “replace color” tool of PSE8 and I have no idea how it works. I checked the manual and I got the impression that whoever wrote instructions for this tool has very limited knowledge of English, as his/her instructions make no sense (to me, anyway). Could anyone tell me, in plain English, how this tool function works? (I refer to “Enhance>adjust color>replace color”. Thanks

    • Sorry I said “I don’t know what this site is all about”. I was actually referring to another site that accidentally found myself in, but came back here and wrote the comment believing I was still there… :-)

Leave a Reply

